Got an opinion? Pissed off about something in the news or in the world around you? It's important to send letters to the editor as soon as possible, not only because our opponents are writing theirs but because letters which are written on a subject which is currently "hot" in the news have a much better chance of being published than at any other time.

Please take a few moments to write a letter to the editor, whether it's one sentence or a few paragraphs. Editors choose the ratio of pro/con letters they print according to the ratio they receive.

Below are the e-mail addresses for letters to the editor of hundreds of newspapers. Send your letter to those newspapers in your area, or however many you want depending on the time you have to spare. Send each newspaper your letter in a separate message because some newspapers will not publish a letter if they know it has been sent to other publications.

Include your name, address and telephone number for confirmation purposes.

Large newspapers which will consider your letter:

USA Today - editor@usatoday.com
FAX:    703-247-3108
       The Christian Science Monitor:      oped@csps.com
       The New York Times:         letters@nytimes.com
       The Chicago Tribune:          tribletter@aol.com
       The Dallas Morning News:    dmneditor@aol.com
       The Boston Globe:             letter@globe.com

We now have a list of all the papers for which we already have letters to the editor... you can consult these and write to the paper to comment directly on their views, making it more likely your letter will be printed!


----OTHER NEWSPAPERS:

Newspapers that receive letters to the editor via America Online
(so all are @aol.com):
Arizona Republic, Phoenix  -  Opinions@aol.com
Abilene TX News  -  AbiNews@aol.com
Idaho State Journal  -  ISJrep@aol.com
        -note:  Idaho State Journal does not accept out of state
letters
Alliance OH Review  -  ReviewEdit@aol.com
Miami Herald  -  HeraldEd@aol.com
Norwood News (Bronx NY) -  NorNews@aol.com
Orlando Sentinel  -  OSOinsight@aol.com
Ann Arbor MI News -  LetterNews@aol.com
Albany NY Times Union  -  TUletters@aol.com
Journal American (Bellevue WA)  -  JaEditPage@aol.com
San Francisco Examiner  -  sfexaminer@aol.com
Tucson AZ Citizen  - tcnews@aol.com
        -note: Tucson Citizen prints letters from Arizona residents
only.
Vancouver WA Columbian  -  vanpaper@aol.com
Phoenix Gazette  -  gazedit@aol.com
Lacrosse Tribune, Wisconsin -  
LaxJour@aol.com
Register Guard, Eugene, OR  -  Rgeds@aol.com
Galveston News, Galveston, TX -   GalvNews@aol.com
Burlington (VT) Free Press   -   BFPstaff@aol.com
Kokomo (IN) Tribune    -   
Press-Republican (Plattsburg, NY) prepub@aol.com
Kingsport (TN) Times News -  DFE4873@aol.com
     (Kingsport Times News publishes letters from local writers only)
Macon (GA) Telegraph  -   EdCorson@aol.com
Bismarck (ND) Tribune   -   Bis707@aol.com
Birmingham (AL) Post Herald  -   PostHerald@aol.com
Lawrence (KS) Journal-World -   LJWorld@aol.com
Johnson County Sun (KS)   -   SUNPUB1@aol.com
Quad City Times (Davenport IA)  -  QCTimes@aol.com
Bozeman (MT) Daily Chronicle - citydesk@gomontana.com
Kingston (NY) Daily Freeman  -   DailyFree@aol.com
Baxter Springs (KS) Citizen (weekly)  -   kansasnews@aol.com
St. Charles City Journal  -  STCJournal@aol.com
Santa Rosa (CA) Press-Democrat  -     PDLetters@aol.com
Myrtle Beach (SC) Herald  -   mbherald@aol.com
Augusta (GA) Chronicle  -  AugChronEd@aol.com
    (Note: Augusta Chronicle publishes letters to the editor from
area ‚residents only.)
New York Post -  nypmail@aol.com
The Saratogian (Saratoga Springs, NY)  -  Saratoga4u@aol.com
Hutchinson (KS) News -  Hutchnews@aol.com
Lake Charles (LA) American Press  -  Talktolcap@aol.com
Times Picayune (New Orleans)   -  TPLetters@aol.com
Franklin Daily Journal   -  jwo004@aol.com
Lafayette (?) Town Talk    -   TWNTLK@aol.com
Benton (ARK) Daily Record   -  compub95@aol.com

Others, not on AOL:
Atlanta Journal  -   journal@ajc.com
Atlanta Constitution  -  
constitution@ajc.com
Austin American Statesman  -  
letters@statesman.com
Boston Herald  -  heraldedit@delphi.com
Corvallis OR Gazette Times  -  74250.2373@compuserve.com
Contra Costa CA Times  -  cctletrs@netcom.com
Des Moines Register  -  letters@dmreg.com
Flint MI Journal  -  fj@flintj.com
Indianapolis Star  -    stareditor@starnews.com
Los Angeles Times  -   letters@latimes.com
Nashville Tennessean  -   letters@tennessean.com
Middlesex News (Framingham MA)  -  mnews@world.std.com
The Village Voice   -   voice@echonyc.com
National Catholic Reporter  -    62893046@eln.attmail.com
Minneapolis Star Tribune  -  opinion@startribune.com
Olympia WA Olympian  - olympian@halcyon.com
Sacramento Bee -  opinion@sacbee.com
 Note: Will not print letters from persons outside of California
San Jose (CA) Mercury News   -  Letters@sjmercury.com
Seattle WA Post Intelligencer - editpage@seattle-pi.com
Santa Cruz County (CA) Sentinel  -  sented@cruzio.com
Seattle Times  - mwat-new@seatimes.com
U. The National College Magazine  - editor@umagazine.com
Union News (Springfield MA)  -    Union.News@the-spa.com
Daily Texan(Austin)  -  texan@www.utexas.edu
Daily Iowan (Iowa City,Ia)  - daily-iowan@uiowa.edu
Minnesota Daily  -   opinions@daily.umn.edu
Chronicle-Telegram (Elyria OH)  -  macroncl@freenet.lorain.oberlin.edu
Iowa State Daily  -  letters@www.daily.iastate.edu
Anchorage Daily News  - letters@pop.adn.com
The State News (East Lansing, MI)  - snews@pilot.msu.edu
Cavalier Daily (Charlottesville VA)  - cavdaily@virginia.edu
Kentucky, U of KY, Lexington   -    
kernel@pop.uky.edu
Honolulu Star
Bulletin - letters@starbulletin.com
St. Petersburg Times, FL - editorial@sptimes.com
Hartford Courant, CT   -  letters@courant.com
Valley News Dispatch (Tarentum PA)  -  lettersvnd@gannett.nauticom.net
Moline Dispatch (Moline IL)  - letters@QConline.com
Norflk Virginian-Pilot/Ledger-Star (Glenn Scott)  -   letters@infi.net
Register-Pajaronian,Watsonville, CA -  pajaro@cruzio.com
Honolulu Advertiser  -   
Missouri Miner (Univ. of Missouri student paper)   -   miner@umr.edu
Greensboro News & Record,Greensboro,NC  -  edpage@nr.infi.net
Athens News, Athens, OH  -   71632.21@compuserve.com
        (Published Monday & Thursday)
San Juan Star,PR -   
Bbilder@eworld.com
Tacoma News Tribune (Tacoma, WA)  -  leted@p.tribnet.com
Roanoke VA Times   -   response@roanoke.infi.net	
Journal Newspapers (VA)   -  journal@infi.net
The Capital (Annapolis MD)  -   
capital@annap.infi.net
Vacaville (CA) Reporter - reporter@community.net
New Bedford (MA) Standard Times  -  YourView@S-T.com
Lafayette (IN) Journal & Courier   -  webmaster@jandc.mdn.com
Colorado Springs (CO) Gazette Telegraph (Tell It To the Gazette)
     gtop@usa.net
Anderson (SC) Independent Mail  -  anderson@globalvision.net or
anderson@carol.net
Athens (OH) Messenger   -  aa286@ra.cs.ohiou.edu
Asbury Park (NJ) Press   -  editors@injersey.com
Beloit (WI) Daily News ("Public Forum")  -  dbehling@boss1.bossnt.com
Tar Heel (Univ Of NC "Reader Forum")  - dth@unc.edu
Daily Beacon (Univ. of TN)   -  letters@beacon.asa.utk.edu
Casper (WY) Star Tribune  -  letters@trib.com
Bergen Record, Hackensack, NJ  -  newsroom@bergen-record.com
Mankato (MN) Free Press   -  freepress@ic.mankato.mn.us
Arizona Daily Star, Tucson, AZ  -  auslande@azstarnet.com
Troy (NY) Record    - TroyRecord@Globalone.net
Mills Weekly (Mills College, CA) - weekly@mills.edu
Providence (RI) Journal Bulletin  - letters@projo.com
Los Alamos (NM) Monitor  -  lamonitr@rt66.com
Syracuse (NY) Post-Standard and Herald  -  online@mailbox.syr.edu
Florida Today (Melbourne FL)   - 71333.1616@compuserve.com
Saint Louis Post Dispatch 
 -  letters@pd.stlnet.com
The Press of Atlantic City (NJ) - thepress@acy.digex.net
The Daily Times (Salisbury MD) - editor@shore.intercom.net
Arizona Wildcat (U of AZ)  - wcnews@ccit.arizona.edu
The Lantern (Ohio State U) - lantern@osu.edu
Kansas City Star  -  talkback@kcstar.com
Gainesville (FL) Sun  -  dart@freenet.ufl.edu
Capital Times (Madison WI) - tctvoice@captimes.madison.com
Fort Worth Star Telegram  -  harral@onramp.net
Tribune-Review (Greensburg PA) -  letters@tribune-review.com
        (note:  Tribune Review does not generally print letters from
outside of PA)
Times Herald (Port Huron MI) -  tmshrld@ic.net
Huntsville Times (& Huntsville News) (AL) -  Jehinger@traveller.com
Detroit News  - Letters@detnews.com
Tampa Tribune  - TBOL99C@prodigy.com
Rapid City Journal (SD)  -  journal@rapidnet.com
Kansas State Collegian  -  letters@spub.ksu.edu
(Denver) Rocky Mountain News - letters@denver-rmn.com 
          (Note:  Rocky Mtn News rarely prints letters from persons who
live outside Colo.)
Western Michigan Herald (Univ paper, Kalamazoo) - WMU_Herald@wmich.edu
Cleveland Plain Dealer -  letters@plaind.com
Keene (NH) Sentinel  -  Letters@keenesentinel.com
Daily Cardinal, Madison, WI  -  edit@cardinal.wisc.edu
Daily University Star (SW TX U, San Marcos TX) - jh15@swt.edu
The Daily, University of Washington - shreve@u.washington.edu
Daily Nebraskan -
letters@unlinfo.unl.edu
Daily Egyptian, Carbondale, IL  -  egyptian@siu.edu
Green Bay (WI) Press Gazette -  
74604.1402@compuserve.com -or-
 pgnews@netnet.net
Bakersfield Californian - tbc@kern.com
Lebanon (PA) Daily News  - LebNews@leba.net
Fayetteville (NC) Observer-Times - eletters@infi.net
Portland (ME) Press-Herald - letters@portland.com
Everett (WA) Herald  -  letters@heraldnet.com
Bedford (IN) Times Mail - tmnews@tmnews.com
Quincy (IL) Herald Whig  - whig@cis.net
Kokomo (IN) Herald (weekly)  - 
koherald@holli.com
Wilmington (NC) Morning Star  - mseditor@wilmington.net
Washington TIMES National Weekly edition - natletr@mcimail.com
Lewiston (ID) Morning Tribune  - city@lmtribune.com
Lincoln (NE) Journal-Star - oped@nebweb.com
Missoula (MT) Missoulian  - msline@missoulian.com
The Daily Herald, Brown University - 
herald@netspace.org
Oklahoma Daily (Univ. of OK) - 
opinion@daily.uoknor.edu
Daily Eastern News (Eastern IL Univ)  - cucms@uxa.ecn.bgu.edu
Daily Californian (Berkeley)  -  dailycal@ocf.berkeley.edu
Daily Cougar (Univ. of Houston) -  st872@jetson.uh.edu
Daily Nebraskan -  letters@unlinfo.unl.edu
Daily Reveille - revedit@unix1.sncc.lsu.edu
Boston Daily Free Press  -  letters@dfpress.com
Collegian (Moraga CA)  -  collegia@galileo.stmarys-ca.edu
Roseburg (OR) News Review  -  bsmith@oregonnews.com
Edmond (OK) Sun  -  letters@edmondsun.com
Danbury (CT) News-Times -  
editor@newstimes.com
Orange County Register (CA)    -  letters@link.freedom.com
Syracuse Newspapers  -  jkane@pottsville.infi.net
Deseret News (Salt Lake City) 
letters@desnews.com
San Francisco Chronicle  -  chronletters@sfgate.com
The Oregonian (Portland)  - letters@oregonian.com
Topeka (KS) Capital Journal  - letters@cjnetworks.com
Daily Aztec, San Diego State University  -  daleters@mail.sdsu.edu
Sun-Sentinel, Fort Lauderdale  -  fletters@sunsent.com
         -(Note:  The Sun-Sentinel does not publish letters from people
outside of Florida.)
Tallahassee (FL) Democrat   -  telltdo@tdo.infi.net
Philadelphia Daily News  - dailynews.opinion@phillynews.com

Idaho Statesman   -  news@idstates.com
Las Vegas Sun   -  Letters@LVSUN.com
Idaho Falls Post Register   -   prnews@srv.net
Moscow (ID) Daily News   -  editor@moscow.com
Grand Island (Neb.) Independent = editor@theindependent.com
Grand Rapids Press   -  editor@GR-Press.com
Lexington (KY) Herald Leader  -  Hledit@lex.infi.net
The Long Beach Press-Telegram  - speakout@ptconnect.infi.net
The Argus Leader (Sioux Falls SD)   -  editor@argusleader.com
Omaha World Herald  -  pulse@novia.net
Chicago Sun-Times   -  letters@suntimes.com
The Denver Post   -  Letters@denverpost.com
Battle Creek (MI) Enquirer   -  enquirer@ccm.tdsnet.com
Philadelphia Inquirer  - inquirer.editorial@phillynews.com
Glenwood (CO) Post    -   glenpost@rof.net
San Antonio Express News    -   editors@express-news.com
Jacksonville (NC) Daily News    -  jdnltrs@jacksonvilledailynews.com
Mobile Press-Register   -    
mobile.eds@dibbs.com
Monroe (AL) Journal   -   
monjour@monroeville.gulf.net
San Diego Union Tribune   - letters@uniontrib.com
Palm Beach (FL) Post   - 
Louisville Courier Journal    -cjletter@louisvil.gannett.com
Pittsburgh Post Gazette   -  letters@post-gazette.com
New Times (San Luis Obispo CA)    -   newtimes-slo@slonet.org
Parsippany (NJ) Daily Record   -   75141.3363@compuserve.com
Bradenton (FL) Herald   -  bhwrite@bhip.infi.net
Biloxi (MS) Sun Herald   -   maildrop@sunherald.infi.net
Arkansas Democrat Gazette   -   news@ardemgaz.com
St. Paul Pioneer Press   -  letters@pioneerpress.com
Sturgis (MI) Journal   -   journal@sturgisjournal.com
Owosso (MI) Argus    - argus@shianet.org
Hanover (PA)  Sun   -  editor@sun-link.com
Morning News of Northwest Arkansas   -  webmeister@ipa.net
Racine (WI) Journal Times   -  journaltimes@wi.net
Ashland (WI) Daily Press   -  ashpress@win.bright.net
Charleston (WV) Gazette   - letters@wvgazette.com
Fairmont (WV) Times-West Virginian   -  timeswv@timeswv.com
Bluefield (WV) Daily Telegraph   -  editor@bdtonline.com
Beckley (VA) Register Herald  -  news@register-herald.com
Charleston (WV) Daily Mail   -  editor@dailymail.com
The Fauquier (VA) Times Democrat   -  lemerson@citizen.net
Morgantown (VA) Dominion Post  -  postpage@dominionpost.com
Staunton (VA) Daily News Leader  -  news@newsleader.com
Danville (VA) Register and Bee   - rbnews@gamewood.net
San Luis Obispo (CA)   - 
slott@scripps.com
Newport News (VA) Daily Express   -  dailyxpress@tribune.com
Mobile (AL) Register   - register@dibbs.net
Yuma (AZ) Sun   -  yumasun@primenet.com
Stockton (CA) Record   -   editor@recordnet.com
Pueblo (CO) Chieftain   -   comments@chieftain.com
Warsaw (IN) Times Union   -   news@kconline.com
Kokomo (IN) Perspetive (weekly)   -   
Fort Wayne News-Sentinel   - nseditor@fortwayne.infi.net
Bloomington (IL) Pantegraph   -    bwills@pantegraph.com
Joplin (MO) Globe   -   editorial@joplinglobe.com
Farmington (MO) Press-Leader   -  rdennis@pressleader.com
Columbia (MO) Daily Tribune   -   cdteditor@trib.net
Brainerd (MN) Daily Dispatch   -   dailyd@brainerd.net
Boulder (CO) Daily Camera - newsr@bouldernews.infi.net
Vicksburg (MS) Post   -   staff@vicksburgpost.com
Macomb (MI) Daily   -   edit@macombdaily.com
Lynn (MA)  Daily Item   -   lynnitem@shore.net
Alpena (MI) News   -  alpenanews@oweb.com
Tahoe Tribune   -  tribune@tahoe.com
Easton(MD) Star Democrat   -   mail@stardem.com
Cumberland (MD) Times-news   -  ctn@times-news.com
Elizabethton (KY) News Enterprise  -   ne@ekx.infi.net
Maysville (KY) Ledger-Independent   -  ponto@may-uky.campus.mci.net
Newton Kansan  -  nkansan@southwind.net
El Doreado (KS) Times   -  eldtimes@southwind.net
Andover (KS) Journal Advocate (weekly)   -  srobrahn@interramp.com
Winfield (KS) Daily Courier   -   courier@horizon.hit.net
Marshalltown (IA) Times Republican   -  timesr@mrshlnet.com
Goshen (IN) News   -  GoshenNews@thelocalnet.com
Northwest Arkanas Times   -  mail@nwarktimes.com
New Albany (IN) Tribune   -  editor@thepoint.net
Terre Haute (IN) Tribune-Star   -
mjones@mail.tribstar.com
Midland (MI) Daily News   -  mdnletters@mdn.net
Logan (UT) Herald-Journal   -
hjletter@hjnews.com
Rutland (VT) Tribune   -
ruttrib@vermontel.com
Greenville (TX) Herald Banner   -  ghb@topher.net
Wexahachie (TX) Daily Light   -
thelight@hachie.citylimits.net
Texarkana (TX) Gazette   - txargaz@cei.net
San Angelo (TX) Standard-Times   -
standard@webstar.net
Plano (TX) Star Courier   -
editorial@dal.cleaf.com
Plainview (TX) Daily Herald   -
dandrews@lonestarbbs.com
El Paso (TX) Herald Post   -  hpost@primenet.com
Murfreesboro (TN) Daily News Journal   -
online@dnj.com
Chattanooga (TN) Times   - mloftin@chattimes.mindspring.com
Easton (PA) Express-Times    -staff@express-times.com
Lock Haven (PA) Express   -
express@oak.kcsd.k12.pa.us
Lehighton (PA) Times News   -
tnonline@postoffice.ptd.net
Gettysburg (PA) Times   -  times@cvn.net
Middletown (PA) Press and Journal   -  paje@epix.net
Carlisle (PA) Sentinel   -  sentinel@epix.net
Klamath Falls (OR) Herald and News   -
handnews@mg1.cdsnet.net
Pittston (PA) Gazette   -
valenti@microserve.net
Raeford (NC) News Journal   -
njournal@coastalnet.com
Schenectady (NY) Daily Gazette   -
gazette@dailygazette.com
Gloversville (NY) Herald Leader   -
leader@superior.net
Parsippany (NJ) Daily Record   -  75141.3363@compuserve.com
New York Newsday   -  MTPG84C@prodigy.com
Portsmouth (NH) Herald   -  pherald@nh-meseacoast.com
Newton (NJ) Herald   -  comments@njherald.com
Emporia (KS) Gazette   -
egazette@cadvantage.com
Danville (KY) Advocate Messenger     -
advocate@amnews.com
Wichita (KS) Eagle   - eagle-c@southwind.net
Albuquerque Journal  -
Opinion@abqjournal.com
Norwich (CT) Evening Sun  -  evesun@norwich.net
Dubuque (IA) Telegraph Herald   -
thonline@wcinet.com
St. Joseph (MO) News Press --
editorial@ponyexpress.net
Beachwood (OH) Sun Press   -  sun@sunnews.com
Delaware (PA) County Times  -  newsroom@i21.com
Beaver (PA) County times  -
editor@tristate.pgh.net
Wapakoneta (OH) Daily News   -
wapakwdn@bright.net
Columbus Dispatch   -   letters@cd.columbus.oh.us
Findlay (OH) Courier  - letters.to.the.editor@thecourier.com
Daytona (FL) News Journal   -  letters@news-jrnl.com
Lakeland (FL) Ledger   -  webmaster@tsolv.com
Ocala (FL) Star Banner  - osb@mercury.net
Pensacola (FL) News Journal  -  pns@gulfsurf.infi.net
Florence (AL) Times Daily  -   timesdly@timesdaily.com
Little Rock (ARK) Times  -   arktimes@aristotle.net
Springdale (ARK) News  - webmeister@ipa.net
Arlington Heights (IL) Herald   -  editorial@dailyherald.com
Champaign (IL) News Gazette  -   news@news-gazette.com
DuQuoin (IL) Call  -  tpetro@ampub.com
Edwardsville (IL) Intelligencer   -  intelligencer@edwpub.com
Harrisburg (IL) Register   -  webmaster@dailyregister.com
Sioux City (IA) Journal   - scjrnl@pionet.net
Burlington (IA) Hawk Eye   -  Kearney@dailynews.net
The State (SC) - editoria@cyberstate.infi.net
thanks to BCS41@aol.com for sending out this list!!